Amp and Pedal Question

Samasm

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting here but I've been playing ukulele for about 2 years now. I've finally got my first electro-acoustic uke (Luna Mahagony Tattoo) and I'm wondering what amplifier people have found success with?
I'm also interested in a couple pedals for it, especially a looper. I'm also interested in pedals that create that more clean guitar sound but I'm not too sure what to search for. Any help is greatly appreciated

A very popular looper is the Ditto, pretty easy to use, and great for practice, it's easy to lay down a track, then play over it, or add multi-layers with bass notes on uke, tapping on uke for drum sounds, etc. For a clean sound, The EHX Soul Food is a great pedal, I use with electric guitar, but it can work well with uke too as a clean boost. With gain turned down and volume up, as a clean boost, you get the same basic tone of your instrument, just more of it, $40-50 used. With guitar, you can turn up the gain for a nice overdrive.

Roland Microcube, it has multiple built in effects, (but no looper). :)

You won't get the sound of a steel string guitar from a nylon/fluorocarbon stringed uke, but you can have fun with some effects. :cool:

Loudbox Mini is a great amp - note that it is NOT battery powered, so you need mains power and it has an instrument and a mic channel, in case you might want to sing along.

A lot of this depends on your budget and what kind of use the gear will get.

For gigging the Fishman Loudbox amps are great, but my personal favourite is the Marshall AS50D.
https://www.thomann.de/gb/marshall_as50d.htm

My favourite Looper was the Jamman Stereo.
https://www.thomann.de/gb/digitech_jamman_stereo.htm

A good way to experiment with tone is a decent EQ pedal.
https://www.thomann.de/gb/boss_ge7_equalizer.htm