Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: More humidity = louder?

Default More humidity = louder?

With all the holiday hustle I haven't picked up a uke for at least 2 weeks so I haven't been monitoring their humidity levels. Last night I picked up my Ohana (solid sinker wood/rosewood) and noticed that the humidity level inside the uke body was around 65%. (I use an Oasis humidifier in the sound hole and place a hygrometer in the body of the uke. Its hard case seals pretty tight, almost like Tupperware.) The humidity level is usually somewhere in the 40s. When I started playing it, it was noticeably louder than it usually is!

Is 65% humidity at the top level of humidification or is it too much humidity? Can more humidity equal more volume?
    Ohana CK-42R concert - solid sinker redwood top, solid rosewood back and sides, maple binding
    Kala KA-FMCG concert- solid spruce top, laminate spalted flame maple back and sides, mahogany binding

Money can't buy happiness but it can buy a ukulele which is basically the same thing.

I have read discussions about various humidity levels in the wood effecting sound, but can't say my own ears have experienced it.
    That said, you noted that you hadn't picked up a uke for at least two weeks....Maybe that part had even more to do with it. You're hearing a bit differently. Now that I have experienced.

I kind of feel the opposite. Mine seems louder when drier.

Quote Originally Posted by jer View Post
    I have read discussions about various humidity levels in the wood effecting sound, but can't say my own ears have experienced it.
    That said, you noted that you hadn't picked up a uke for at least two weeks....Maybe that part had even more to do with it. You're hearing a bit differently. Now that I have experienced.