Can't figure out strum pattern for a song

jzz065

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the Ukulele, and most of my experience comes from tutorials on youtube.

I want to learn this song I recently found on the internet http://f.tabstabs.com/page/330160 (English Rose by Ed Sheeran),
but also noticed that the strum pattern isn't provided for any of the songs on the website.

What could be a recommended strum pattern for this song, and how should I play along with the sheet music?

It seems to me that the pattern, in a fast four, is D D (D) UDU, skipping the down in beat 3. This rhythm seems to be used through the song. I don’t listen to a lot of music, being a music teacher myself, but I sure do appreciate the lyric songs that I have heard by Ed. And it was fun to see him on Game of Thrones.

I have never in my life looked for a 'strum pattern' to a song;
if I know the tune or the record,I just try to more or less copy
what I hear and what I am familiar with.It has never been an
issue with me.But many people ask similar questions, so be
patient,because while I can't help you, I am sure someone
will be along soon to help with your query!

I'm with you. Don't get too hung up on a strum pattern. When I make tutorial videos, people ask me what the strum pattern is and I don't even know what to tell them because it's very hard for me to slow it down and think of exactly what I'm strumming. I just do what feels/sounds best to me.

But try the advice a couple posts up with that pattern and let us know how it is!

Thanks for the advice, I guess that strumming is supposed to come more naturally at times then with a set pattern.

But yeah, the D D (D) UDU works great, thanks!

I agree with TD. I don’t study strums either. I have a few “strum” books, but I just use ‘em for the tunes.