Roland AC33 & 2 PA50 setup

brUKEman

Reaction score
I currently play small venues like nursing homes. I am using just a Roland AC33 for my uke plug in and I also have one mic plugged into the Roland. This setup is adequate, but I also own 2 PA50's. Do I need to use them and if so what would be the best setup.

Do I get a small mixer and run everything thru it, or do I just use the 2 PA50's with a mixer.

What would be a good mixer that is easier to use?

I am not a techie, and I am looking for a quick and easy setup.

Thanks..

The amount of amplification required is determined by the dimensions of the room you are playing in, and by proxy the size of the audience (# of seats).

Larger rooms need more watts and more actual speakers in order to project the sound farther and wider, HOWEVER, you can achieve a same perceived 'loudness' level with more speakers at LOWER volume when compared to a single speaker with a relative higher volume setting, and due to the spread of the sound from multiple sources, this is less painful an assault on the ear drums of the audiience on account of the lower ACTUAL volume setting.

The reason for this is that the sound energy required to cover the room is actually spread across multiple transducers (speakers).

If the Roland AC33 has a 'line out' you can run that to 'line in' on one of the PA50 speakers and then using the daisy-chain/link function for those units, connect them together. A mixer is likely to add unneeded complexity if it is just you playing solo with uke and voice. In this setup, you need to manage and control the volume level of each item independently to get a proper BALANCE without killing the folks on the left side while the folks on the right side can barely hear anything.