Chords - down down up?

owada

Reaction score
Hi fveroybody, I just bought an ukulele and am trying to play 'Somewhere over the rainbow'.
I don't understand, how many times sgould I play the C chord,and then how many times the Em Chord and so on?
And also How should I play each chord? Would down-down-up ge good? Or what would ou suggest?
Thanks so much inadvance!

Attachments

• rainbow.PNG
    rainbow.PNG
    7.8 KB · Views: 22
Thanks a lot! Uhh pretty tough with the chunking hehe, gotta practice!!

Thanks a lot! Uhh pretty tough with the chunking hehe, gotta practice!!
Are you a beginner? Because if you are, maybe it would be wise to pick something a little simpler and straight forward and build on it, before you tackle Aldrine's strum pattern there.

Wish I had youtube when I started learning guitar 35 years ago. Back then we had chord books usually in the wrong key. At least I can now learn by ear I guess from playing songs over and over, winding back tapes over and over trying to figure out strumming and picking pattern of the original songs.

Last edited:
OK, the first thing to decide, which isn't actually written there, is how many beats per bar your going to play. 4 beats per bar i(per chord change) is "standard". I did a quick test and this fits the song so 4 beats per bar it is. Sometimes in simple song annotation such as the example you may see one chord written that lasts 2 bars or so. You will just have to get a feel for this when the songs are written simply like this.

A simple chord strumming pattern is one down strum and one up strum per beat. So for one bar its down,up, down,up, down,up, down, up. Keep it even as you can. Now when I play this I would put a rhythm accent on one of the beats but for a beginners learning exercise try and keep it even.

After some practice you will get a feel for putting an accent strum in.