Fender Montecito or Oscar Schmidt OU7T (Tenor)

AnneG

Reaction score
I have a Kala Ka Cem and am looking to get a tenor so that I can put in a low G. I have read reviews, etc. and while I know there are many other options, I do love how these 2 Ukes look 😊.

Which of these 2 would you suggest and why?

I am relatively new to playing by the way, but want a decent sounding uke (tenor) with a deeper tone to what is already have. Thanks!!

I don't know either of the ones you are looking at, but I would suggest another Kala or an Ohana, from my own experiences, depending on how much you want to pay, either a mahogany or cedar topped, or a solid mahogany. :)

(You could put a low G on your concert.)

Hi Anne! Welcome to the fun.

If you like the distinctive Fender headstock (which is kinda cool, IMHO), Hawaii Music Supply still has some limited run solid-topped Fender Noheas. Since you're new, I don't know if you've read the hundreds of posts discussing the importance of a set-up to not only ensure good intonation, but also to make playing comfortable for you. This is REALLY important. All HMS ukes include this setup, no matter the price.

Check out this link for specs on the Nohea, and one of HMS's wonderful videos.

https://www.theukulelesite.com/fender-solid-koa-top-tenor-exclusive-model-limited-run.html

Thank you for this! The Fender sold by HMS would have been a great option, but unfortunately I will be subjected to custom fees and shipping is over USD60 as I live in Germany.

I don't know if this would be an option for you, but the Southern Ukulele Store in the UK is highly regarded and has a nice selection of tenor Kala ukes.

Thanks, I will check them out!

I kind of want to have another brand Ukulele. I did read good reviews of the 2 I mentioned, I just wanted to know if some of you guys have played it before and have any comments on it. :)

Thanks, I will check them out!