What string should i use for my future kala KA-STG?

Jonathan80

Reaction score
Hello good folks of uu,

Im would like to hear some suggestion on string to use on my comming kala KA-STG uke... any suggestion is appreciated and im a real beginner in uke.

I read alot about doffrent string barand and about hi-g and low-g setup which makes me kinda lost in it.

Regards
Jonathan

Call me old fashioned, but I think your first ukulele should be the classic re enterant tuning.
As for strings, my wife's Kala cedar top came with nygut string.
She hasn't changed them, and they sound amazing.
I like fluorocarbon for feel and brightness, so far all I use are
Martins, 600, or 620.
There are of course hundreds of choices.
The stock nygut are good strings, you might love them and never need anything else.

Last edited:
Call me old fashioned, but I think your first ukulele should be the classic re enterant tuning.
As for strings, my wife's Kala cedar top came with nygut string.
She hasn't changed them, and they sound amazing.
I like fluorocarbon for feel and brightness, so far all I use are
Martins, 600, or 620.
There are of course hundreds of choices.
The stock nygut are good strings, you might love them and never need anything else.

hello maki66,

Thank you for opinion.. i guess i get to save some on strings for now =)

Regards
Jonathan

I agree, try using what comes with it first, then, if you don't like their feel or tone, that's the time to look at others.
(Fluorocarbon strings tend to feel nicer under my fingers too.)

P.S. I use Concert scale fluorocarbon (low G) strings on my tenor scale ukes, it's another option, gives less tension.

Last edited:
I agree, try using what comes with it first, then, if you don't like their feel or tone, that's the time to look at others.
(Fluorocarbon strings tend to feel nicer under my fingers too.)

P.S. I use Concert scale fluorocarbon (low G) strings on my tenor scale ukes, it's another option, gives less tension.

Hello Croaky,