Is it cheating or smart?

lifereinspired

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm new to the uke and have so many questions I want to ask! Rather than making a mamoth long post that no one wants to read through, I'll take more time and post them separately.

I've been working hard to practice and learn chords as well as learning to switch back and forth in time with the song without an awkward pause in between. I'm particularly working on G (0232) and Em (0432) with the 3 fingered chord using index, mid, & ring. I've learned that one can simply play the C string on 4th fret with your pinkie coming from the chord of G in order to not have to move everything (which part of me likes) but it feels kind of like cheating. I can't decide if it's playing smart or cheating. Is there one "right way" to play? Is it smart to develop multiple ways to play something now so I'll learn to change things up as I get better or am I developing bad habits that will be a pain to break later on?

Thanks so much in advance! So grateful for this incredible community! :)

I think it's genius! I've been playing for 10 years and have never come across that one. G to Em is so common, and i have always found it awkward. I just tried it with I-vi-ii-V progression (G-Em-Am-D) and it was super smooth.

Still, to continue improving, it is important to practice chord changes that require full lifting and replacing of the fingers. It just happens way too much to avoid.

What I suggest is learning chords and notes in their common positions, and using other fingerings when it becomes more efficient to do so.

Generally, C is generally played with the third finger because it is on the third fret, and when you play single notes in the first position, each finger is mapped to a fret...first finger first fret, second finger second fret, and so on.

This is also why A minor is generally played with the second finger, and C7 is generally played with the first finger.