Helping out a Newb

SA Condor

Reaction score
I’m looking for suggestions from those of you that have owned/played multiple brands/makers and from those that may be aware of some great deals be it new, used, or seconds/blems.

Here’s some background info. I’ve played classical guitar for 20 years, so a ‘wide’ neck is not a bad thing for me. I’m 6’2”, so I’m thinking possibly a Concert but leaning heavily towards a Tenor. Here’s where it gets tough. Since I’m new to this instrument, my wife is absolutely NOT behind me paying more for a nicer instrument :(, so $200 +/- a little is where I’m stuck for now. Ultimately, sound reigns supreme for me. Sure, we all love pretty looking instruments, but that means nothing to me as much as how the instrument sounds and resonates. Just because something can be load doesn’t mean it sounds good while doing it :D

There are exactly ZERO Ukuleles I can try out here in Bolivia, so I’m looking to those of you that have experienced these instruments. Sure, I’d love to get a higher end instrument with an amazing sweet tone to it, but unless any of you know of a steal of a deal, that’s not happening at this stage in my life.

So help me out here! I’ve found a Tenor Mainland second in mahogany that falls in that price range, a Tenor Kumu in mahogany, and also a Tenor Islander in Acacia in that price range. Out of those, can anyone say one is the clear leader in beautiful tone and resonance? What other suggestions do you have in that meager price range?

Anyone know of any amazing deals on a nicer mid-range or have one they want to sell me :cool:

Is there a sting case for me to be looking more at the Concert size and not just the Tenors?

Thanks! I look forward to hearing your input.

As you already play a stringed instrument, any size you like will be suitable for you, (but I always recommend a concert scale as a beginner uke).

The Mainland & Islander I've heard good things about on here from other members, I know nothing about Kumu.