Strumming with the index finger

dxn2

Reaction score
So, when I strum with my thumb I get a nice full sound. When I strum with my index finger not so much. It sounds like I am slapping my nail against the strings. Sounds very thin like the strings aren't vibrating much at all and I'm just kind of bouncing off them. Anyone experience something similar.

Of course this is happening on the higher end Uke I just bought and not the $50 one I started on. My guess is that there is higher string tension on the new Uke that I am not used to. Has me questioning the set up and playability of the new Uke (although I'm pretty sure thats 99% in my head but you know how buyers remorse goes).

I am still new to the instrument and figure over time I'll figure it out. Thought I'd ask for some advice here.

Thanks.

It is a different sound. Maybe you try with a too long fingernail? I myself strum all the time with just index finger, except when I want to get a quick effect follow up with a thumb strum.

The thumb strum is the best way to know in my opinion that all the fretting is done properly. And also it is a nice soft sound, without nail I mean.

Same time and it is only for me, I don't really like to keep my index fingernail long. In fact I usually can't. So it is more like to upwards index finger strum, more is from the flesh if any nail effect I think. It sounds nice.
Down strum is different yes than from my thumb.

Btw I have always been wondering about these guys like bazmaz, reviewing ukes and posting their videos of sound comparison. I like them as entertainment a lot, but myself have been never able to keep my index or any nail upto such things ;)