Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Ukulele Advice

Default First Ukulele Advice

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to the board. I was given a cheap ukulele as a Christmas gift and fell in love with ukulele. I've been playing guitar for more than 10 years and felt the need to upgrade from my cheapie. I would like to ask some advice?

My budget is around $200-ish. I've looked around and decided that I want to get a Concert length. Currently, I'm interested in either Kala Concert Travel, Islander AC-4, or Fluke/Flea from either HMS or UkeRepublic and wanted to hear your opinion on this. Thank you!

L.A. California

Hello and welcome to the forum!
    Concert is a nice size.
    Any of your choices would probably suit just fine.
    I'm a huge Fluke fan, here is some light reading;
    Edited to add; $200 won't buy a new Magic Fluke, but you may find a decent deal occasionally on the Market Place Thread.

I admire the Islander and its on my short list, for sure. Its got a very wide nut, 1 1/2", so great for large hands.
    Same for Most Kala's, of which we own 5 of various sizes and flavors.
    Last edited by maki66; 03-09-2018 at 07:12 PM.
    Playing my Magic Fluke and grinning like a fool!

Davison, MI

they are all competent products. go with whatever you like the most and whichever one you think will make you play more often.
    Youtube channel
    Ukulele start date: November 1st, 2013
    Cordoba 15CM concert uke

In my experience, the one true upgrade is to an all solid wood instrument, so personally, I'd try to save up some more in order to get in the range of Pono or KoAloha Opio. I know these are a lot more expensive than what you want to spend right now, but it will save you money in the long run, as you won't have the need to upgrade any further.

Upper Hale, Surrey/Hants border, UK.

Welcome aboard.

I always recommend a concert scale to beginners, but I see you play guitar, so you will know what is going to suit you best.