Can we substitute chords from guitar to ukulele?

Rider

Reaction score
Hi, I am a beginner ukulele player. In fact I have just ordered my first Ukulele and it has not arrived yet...I am reading up up and learning though and have a question...If I have a song like Twinkle Twinkle Little star here with the chords written for guitar...

C F C
Twinkle, twinkle little star.
F C G7 C
How I wonder what you are.
C F C G7
Up above the world so high,
C F C G7
Like a diamond in the sky.
C F C
Twinkle, twinkle little star.
F C G7 C
How I wonder what you are.

Can I just substitute in the correct ukulele finger placement for the C, F, and G7 chords then play it as written? Or what do I need to do to transfer it to a ukulee ? Wanting to know so I can play other songs written for guitar but on my Ukulele.
thanks

What comes to chords with same top 4 string frettings in guitar, they often have same chord names to a baritone ukulele with DGBE tuning.
Normal ukulele has gCEA tuning that is a "fourth higher", so depends how you mean't, you may need to transpose.

Use something like https://ukebuddy.com/ukulele-chords that allows to change the tuning to either one as a help, or for to find alternative chord forms to a specific chord.
There is on side of the head the tuning selection.

Last edited:
You aren't substituting anything. A chord is a chord.

You aren't substituting anything. A chord is a chord.

THIS^

If it says play a G chord, it does not matter if it is played on guitar, piano, ukulele, medieval lute, cavaquinho, etc, they all finger it differently as per the instrument, but when sounded out, all the notes are of that chord, or are 'enharmonic', regardless of instrument that the chord is played on...

Major, Minor, 7th variants, etc, you just PLAY on whatever instrument the fingerings for the NAME of the chord.

'Music' is portable to any instrument.

How else would an orchestra or an ensemble work? Spell-casting and Rune Magick?