To teach or not to teach

arashi_nero

Reaction score
So yesterday, I went to the shop where I bought my tenor and they had some brand-spankin-new Eleukes (came in yesterday--i'll post a different thread about that :drool:). Anyway, I was playing one of them in the amp room when I saw a mom and 2 kids come into the store. One of the kids had a uke gig bag strapped to his back. I decided just to stay in the room instead of going to talk to them (i was enjoying the Eleuke too much). After I was done, I went and talked to the guitar guys to see how much the Eleuke was, and the mom of the kids came up to me and said she heard me playing in the amp room and wanted to know if I would teach her son lessons. She also asked if I had a music degree (not sure where that would even help haha). I told her that even though I have a music degree, I've never taught. She begged and I gave her my contact info.

I guess he bought his uke in Hawaii (it was a Kala soprano--probably KA-S from the looks of it). They came in to make sure the setup was right and to buy uke books and a tuner.

I do want to spread the "Aloha" but I don't even know where to start to teach someone. I'm sure I can get him going and get him in the right direction, but is it worth it to teach for money? What does everyone think? Who here teaches uke?

If I like it enough, I may do this more. I guess I'm more nervous about getting started than anything.

I taught guitar for a few years at a local music store. It can be both rewarding and frustrating...rewarding to watch folks learn and enjoy their instrument, and frustrating to see someone who is only there because their parents want them to take lessons but they don't practice during the week. It's more like a 30 minute babysitting session for the mom while she gets her nails done.