Why re-entrant tuning?

sarastro

Reaction score
I'm very new to ukulele playing (3 weeks) and I am curious to the reason for re-entrant tuning?

Because that is what makes the uke unique.

It gives you more flexibility as a solo performer, has a more balanced sound when strummed and many popular uke techniques can only be done with the versatile high G string.

Well, theJumpingflea is correct...this tuning is what makes the ukulele unique. The uke can be tuned a lot of different ways, each for a particural sound or song style. I have found that some ukes sound better tuned a certain way...ie. Low G, slack string, ADF#B, etc. Try some different tunings and see which one opens your uke(s) up. This by the way is also an excuse to develop UAS... I mean, now you have different ukes set up for certain types of playing and each now sounds as good as they possibly can! It makes perfect sense...hehehehe!:music:

It also has to do with the human ear. When ukulele was relatively young (this is all educated guesses, by the way), it was mostly played as a solo instrument. People singing tended to sing in higher registers and the low note (or "G") didn't sound as good as tuning it up an octave. As to why it ended up being a "G" rather than any thing else, there is so theory I could go into on, but I won't bore you.

If you get the chance, listen to a uke played with a low G. I don't like it as a solo instrument as much as the high G. I do play it with the low G a lot because I play with other instruments a lot. But, for solo work, it blends with the chords quite a bit better.

~DB

P.S.: I take no responsibility for the historical accuracy of the above post! 8-P

Re-entrant tuning also gives you easier access to a potential melody note within a given chord. This can come in handy with chord-melody and finger picking styles.

I think it is also somewhat akin to the fifth string on a 5-string banjo. Perhaps a digression, but anyone know the story on that fifth string?