Acoustic-Electric Ukulele vs. Acoustic Ukulele

iamfroogle

Reaction score
Hi everyone, new player here- well, I picked up an acoustic-electric eleuke recently and I'm not too impressed with the sound. I mean I don't claim to be an expert but I think my friend's basic acoustic ($70-100) range ukulele sound a lot nicer.

I wanted to get this as something to learn/practice on acoustically, I don't even have an amp but I wanted the room for expansion should I get good one day and decide to plug it in. So just wanted to get your input on this issue, do acoustic-electric usually don't sound as good as acoustic? And any reconmendation on an acoustic... I'm thinking a Lanikai LU Tenor or Concert...

Thanks for reading

Hi iamfroogle,
I'm brand new to Ukulele too.
Just before Christmas I bought a Ohana TK20CE Tenor Acoustic/Electric. I wasn't too sure about the strings that were supplied on it. It was advertised as having GHS with a wound C string. I had read on the web that alot of people didn't like these strings so when I ordered it I also ordered a set of Worth browns.
It sounds absolutely beautiful, to my fresh lughole. You don't say what strings your uke has so it might be worth experimenting.
I did adjust the action too but I'll leave that to the expert Luthiers to comment about.

I'm pleased to find such a helpful forum.
Docryf

It has new Aquila Strings which are supposedly one of the best

I have nan Applause electric acoustic soprano that goes for about 160 bucks, and a 20 Euro richwood instruments soprano. for acoustic work, the acoustic soprano is much better. The electric acoustic is good plugged in, otherwise it sounds pretty muffled.

At the lower end like that what you are seeing is probably just the variation from sample to sample. With the factory instruments it's not unusual to have two of the same model where one is great and the other is ho-hum or worse. That's just the nature of the beast.