What do you do with a ukulele ensemble?

dianalele

Reaction score
I got my first ukulele 2 years ago, and all of a suddent there are like 20 music majors on my campus who have ukuleles. They are interested in started a ukulele ensemble or a ukulele club, and they asked me to kind of put it together and run it, which I am totally honored to do so.

I know there are hundreds of ukulele get-togethers all over the place, and I was just wondering if you could share what you do at your meetings? What do you play? Where do you get the music? Who runs it? Do you take turns? Do you spend time teaching for the people who arent as advanced? What do you do about differences in ability? Do you know of a place or website that I can get good music arranged for ukulele ensembles? Does anyone arrange music themselves?

I know I asked a million questions, but answer what you can! I'm just looking for ideas to spark my brainstorming.

I am a complete newbie...but our uke club people bring copies of music (or just play by ear telling chords) and we all play together from pages. We have discussed having a songbook.
There is another group an hour and half away that have the first hour working on Chord review for newbies and then they decide what songs to play and play them.

Other groups are more like open mike night, I guess it depends on who the people are. If you are all experienced you may want to do it that way.
Good luck!

I know there are hundreds of ukulele get-togethers all over the place, and I was just wondering if you could share what you do at your meetings? What do you play? Where do you get the music? Who runs it? Do you take turns?

I think you need to start with one benevolent dictator acting as the cosmic overlord. I believe you have already volunteered for the position.