Paupers and Kings: A Confession

H

Hippie Dribble

For the past couple of months I've been feeling a growing sense of shame and self disgust at my appetite for ukuleles and the ridiculous amount of money I have been spending on them. I feel like the guy from the Monty Python film ' The Meaning of Life' who sits down, gorges himself on food and then his guts explode everywhere. Except I see no humour in my own circumstance.

I work as an aged carer...yep...without putting too fine a point on it, wiping peoples' bums and dealing with demented behaviours. in our society, a hugely undervalued and poorly paid job. To give you some perspective, the 19 year olds who operate the cash registers at supermarket check outs across the road get paid more than we do. My beautiful wife stays at home and devotes her time to home schooling our children and doing the lion's share of work on our farm, and gets a small govt. subsidy. We live, theoretically, below the poverty line. I should be buying makalas, lanikais, mahalos right? No. I buy collings, mya moe, kamaka et al.

We have no major debt - mortgage - as we own our property. Nor do we have a credit card, mobile phone. We grow many of our own fruit and veges, nuts, eggs etc. But we have no savings either...My savings account has gone from $7000+ dollars in the last 18 months to zero. Every spare cent in the last 3 years that I've hadhas gone towards buying ukuleles. We have no money to fall back on in the event of something going wrong with a health issue or otherwise. I am an insulin dependent diabetic of 25 years with complications developing so in all likelihood this will become another cost at some point. we also have 2 young children depending on us.