Progressing your skills?

Andrew142010

Reaction score
I started playing ukulele about, 6 months ago and have played non stop since. By now I am almost intermediate, I have a Kala Teme-3 Tenor which I love. But I get to a point that I just feel like I am practicing the same stuff, and that I am not progressing! Like hitting a wall. Does anyone have any tips or resources that could help me in any way? Or is it just a case of playing and playing? Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Pick a style of music that excites you, speaks to you. What kind of music do you like? Listen to music in that style. Research the components of that style. And practice those components. Try to recreate and expand on those components. Its more than just playing and playing. Music communicates emotion. Tap in to the emotion. If you're stuck in a rut, listen to music. Allow yourself to become inspired and go from there.

If you are at least intermediate level, you should be comfortable sitting in with other musicians, ukers, etc., even if at Church. Sure is a lot more fun to learn from others and play with others.

I love that answer HoldinCoffee haha, I will be sure to take a few hours out for that, you're right I need inspiration! And @PhilUSAFRet I am but I am maybe 1 of 2 people I know that play uke, my dad plays guitar but I rarely play with him and I do not know of any other opportunities to play with someone so I find it difficult.

Please feel free to use the practice sheets in Ukulele Boot Camp (link below my signature).

They should give you chord and chord-changing practice and help you become familiar
with chords in 5 different keys.

The FREE Songbook will also give you a system for learning and practicing unfamiliar or even
familiar songs with new chords.

Enjoy and keep uke'in',

Please feel free to use the practice sheets in Ukulele Boot Camp (link below my signature).

They should give you chord and chord-changing practice and help you become familiar