Does anyone use the thumb for chords??

Dan Uke

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I noticed that certain chords seem easier to play w/ the thumb. I can play the chord normally but can't switch fingers quickly enough to play a song. I think it's mostly jazz chords. Just wondering

I do sometimes. Not often.

I don't feel good about it. :)

JJ

I do sometimes as well because it leaves my fingers free.

Sometimes...

Yes, I do quite a lot. I know it's probably not the correct technique, but it's comfortable for me, so I don't mind.

In my own case, I think it comes from being a guitarist and using the thumb to alternate bass notes in chords, so that's where I picked it up.

I suppose I would say do whatever you're most comfortable with :)

Anna

I do it all the time. I've been doing it for 35 years. I'm self-taught, so I didn't have anyone around to tell me that I shouldn't do it. And as a result, I'm perfectly comfortable playing chords like E and Fm7 that many people try to avoid. There's not a thing wrong with using your thumb. You still have to practice to do it cleanly, and to get to and from chords in whatever song you're playing, but there's a lot of things I can play easily that would be very difficult to play without using my thumb. Use every weapon in your arsenal to play what you're trying to play. Don't limit your abilities and options because someone else told you to.

I use my thumb to barre the E and the 6664 F#. And I use my thumb a lot on the G string, even on simple chords like Am or Dm, to leave me with fingers free to pick out notes. With a low G string, I also sometimes play bass notes using my thumb -- the video "Uncle Wheels" on my YouTube page is an example.

To me, playing is playing clear notes at the right time in the right order. I'm sure some will balk at this. So be it.