New ukulele in the price range ~$400 and other stuff

Elegant.

Reaction score
Hmpf, I've been a member here for about six hours and I'm really a beginner, so therefore I'd gladly appreciate any recommendations you experienced ukulele players have.

However, to summarize:

I've been playing for fun since October, just trying to get into ukulele playing. Since the time is running faster than ever, I haven't played as much as I expected to.

To the topic:

The ukulele I've had since October is a fairly cheap one (~$50) - an Eagle UK200. Since then and since now I'm just learning with this instrument (right now I'm following the Uke Minutes tutorials - really good), and I'm planning to buy a more solid och nicer ukulele when I'm over the beginner phase.

Therefore I have plenty of time to make a decision (or maybe I want a new ukulele faster? :p).

To my current thoughts:

First: the price range is around $400, excluding cases and other (you mention) necessary stuff. Which ukulele do you recommend? I'll mention what I've looked up further down.
Second: I live in Sweden, in a small town, which means I don't have "access" to any nice music store to test ukuleles, and therefore I'm asking about nice stores that ships worldwide?
Third: when buying the new ukelele, should I buy new strings directly or is it OK to play with the including ones?

What I've looked up:

Hamano Concert H100C:

This one sounds really nice and I really like the tone of it. Since this ukulele was in the first video of an ukulele tutorial I followed, it may have played role for what I'm thinking.

The shop that's selling the Hamano ukulele is:
http://www.justecordes.fr/

Is this music store well-known?

However, you maybe see that I'm a beginner and therefore I want to make this right from the beginning.

Any recommendations, answers or questions on what I've written above?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: