Good banjo for around $200

Rubio MHS

Reaction score
I got mt Dean Backwoods 3 Banjo in the mail the day before yesterday and thought I'd share my story. For a long time, I've wanted a banjolele, but getting a decent one looked like about a $400 endeavor. I purchased a banjo pack from Muscian's Friend; it was supposed to include a gig bag, a pitch pipe nd a strap, but the website stiffed me. It's a used banjo in mint condition, and the pack ran $207 plus $15 tax. In addition ,I bought banjo picks and Janet Evan's wonderful You Can Teach Yourself Banjo.

The wood on the resonator, neck and fingerboard is much nicer than I expected for this price range, and the chrome is shiny. The peg on the fifth string was so loose that I couldn't even tune it to a G, but I fixed that with a screwdriver. It wasn't hard to get in tune.

The first thing I noticed when I started playing it was the pure volume it put out. With the picks, it's louder than an acoustic guitar, and afteran hour of play, I had a headache.The strings are okay. I know there are better banjos out there, but the sound is lovely. Within a few hours, I could play a few rolls at a decent speed, and I'm looking forward to applying what I've learned to the ukulele using the thumb roll.

If you purchased the item in "mint" condition then you should have received everthing included in the description of the banjo pack - everything. Otherwise Musician's Friend would not give the rating "mint." So call their customer service. I'm sure they will provide you with everthing you should have received.

I got on the phone with them, and they're sending a gig bag, a strap and a stand, which wasn't in the package (I think), but was in the photo.