Fretting practice without a ukulele

Timruss

Reaction score
Forgive me if this is a stupid question but I am just starting out. Is there a means to practice finger positions and chord transitions on a fretboard without using a ukulele? I was thinking about a mocked up copy of a fretboard without the uke body, something that can be carried almost in a pocket or at least in a brief case and used on the train or odd moments while waiting etc. - just thinking of ways to increase practice time as a beginner. Thanks

Go for it.

I saw one, complete with strings, for classical guitar.
It covered about the first 5 frets, or so.

Let us know if you create one. Pictures would be nice too. :)

Don't be surprised if you get 'orders' for one or several from fellow UUers!

keep uke'in',

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but I am just starting out. Is there a means to practice finger positions and chord transitions on a fretboard without using a ukulele? I was thinking about a mocked up copy of a fretboard without the uke body, something that can be carried almost in a pocket or at least in a brief case and used on the train or odd moments while waiting etc. - just thinking of ways to increase practice time as a beginner. Thanks

Get a pocket Uke, will fit in your pocket.

I have a ukulele in my car, it's a Dolphin (it was free on CraigsList with a broken neck, which I fixed with glue). I put a strap on it (with one of those Command sticky hooks), and put it around my neck while driving. I can practice strumming, picking, and hitting chords, all separately, while driving. In traffic and at stops, I can play, sometimes I make it all the way thru Crazy G.

Buy the cheapest piece of junk Ukulele you can find and saw the neck and headstock off. Fit eyelets or hammer 4 nails in either end and wind strings around them.