converting from high g to low g

1300cc

Reaction score
i play mostly instrumental solos, is it easy to convert the notes to low g?

i play mostly instrumental solos, is it easy to convert the notes to low g?

I'm no expert altho that has never stopped me, however I think the answer is a qualified "yes". The reason I say a qualified yes is that *I* think it depends on what string you use and the slot space (hope that's a close-enough term) at the nut.

I'm trying out a low-g on my Boat Paddle tenor. My plan was to try out one of the new Aquila Red Series low-g strings. The Red Series low-g seems a bit thicker than a wound low-g. I'm getting buzzing due to the string being a bit thicker and touching at the first fret (it seems almost as thick as the C string). Plan B is to go to a "normal" wound low-g on the Boat Paddle and try the Aquila low-g on a Fluke tenor (assuming the thicker Red Series string fits the nut slot).

Steve

Last edited:
Hi 1300cc

Yes, I think so. ON low-G, you have all notes of high-G plus extra low notes. Sometimes, on a high0G arrangement, players do cleaver use of G and A strings to play cascading sounds which will be harder to do on low-G. Otherwise, you should be OK.

Good luck!
Chief

This may be simplistic but the notes are the same. It's just a matter of octave. If I phrased that properly. Low, middle, high. Same note.

but when fingerpicking some songs doesnt sound good while others are ok....

but when fingerpicking some songs doesnt sound good while others are ok....

Well, you will at least have to hit the right note, eg., a melody note on highG string will have to be relocated elsewhere, because on low G, it will be one octave lower and sounds out of place.

It's like playing 12 string guitar......

Cheers
Chief