Kala ubass tuners

SKBarbour

Reaction score
I'm new to the fornum here and have enjoyed looking through for info. I'm not very familiar with ukuleles but have built a few guitars. When I saw the ubass I decided to try to build one to my own specs. I have not started building yet I'm still planning things out. The one thing I can't seem to source out are the tuners that are used on the ubass. Does anyone have a source for these? Seems they have to be available somewhere but I've had no luck. Roadtoad music lists them on thier parts page but have not been able to order them through the web site. I also e-mailed them but have not had a response yet. Largesound also sells tuners but I think they are more for the ashbory 4 on one side design and I prefer the traditional uke 2 left 2 right look for this instrument. If anyone has input into compensting for the ubass strings I would appreciate that as well. Thanks for any and all replies.

I've built one Bass uke, and am at present working on the second. Should be finished sometime over the weekend. As far as tuners are concerned, I couldn't source them, so had to think a little outside the box! The first used standard Bass tuners, but they really don't work that well. New solution will be revealed next week (if it works well) and seems pretty simple to me! ;)

Just turn a large barrel that can be slipped on over standard tuner posts and then set in place with a lock/set screw. Cross drill. You may have to shorten the original tuner posts so they don't go up through where you're going to thread the string through. Aluminum round bar stock would work, too, and then you'd just have to drill for the post, drill for a set screw, drill for the string. Could be done with no more than a hack saw and a drill. For slick, though, use a lathe and then get them anodized.

Thanks for the replies. Rick that sounds like a good idea and if I can't come up with something I will do some expierimenting.