Brunswick BU4C or Oscar Schmidt OU5?

ChaosToo

Reaction score
Hi all,

Firstly, I'm a complete novice to Ukuleles, having only ever messed about on guitars briefly in the past (drums being my 'instrument' of choice)

I got my first Uke (Mahalo Soprano) for Christmas, which I fitted Aquila strings to and lowered the action on and I must say I'm absolutely loving learning how to play...

Anyway, having been well and truly bitten by the bug, I want to add to my Uke collection and I've decided I'd like a concert size to go with my little Soprano.

After much searching, I think I've narrowed it down to the two Ukes in the title - but there's a bit of a price difference between the two, primarily due to the fact that the OS isn't readily available in the UK, so would need ordering in from the States.

I can get the Brunswick delivered for about £65 (US$104), whilst the OS will set me back about £138 (US$220) once delivery and import charges are paid.

So - finally - some advice please!

Will the Brunswick be a noticeable step up in quality from the Uke I currently have?

Is the OS worth the extra outlay?

Or is there another (UK readily available) alternative in that sort of price bracket that will be a noticeable improvement and will fit the bill?

Thanks in advance for any help offered.......

If you were in U.S., I'd recommend the OU5, but at about half the price you would have to pay.. It's an ok uke and if not loud, sounds resonant and sweet with Aquila strings. It's also gorgeous. It''s also heavy, but I don't mind. I'd think that for the price of that OS, you could get an Ohana that would sound and play way better, be lighter, more resonant, project better, etc. etc. Check with Ken Middleton.