Neck Reset

Pondoro

Reaction score
OK, I have an old Kent baritone. The strings are too high. The neck slants up and it should be level.

I know the uke is not worth much.

I know neck resets are a pain.

I know I could buy a new Ohana from a reputable dealer for very little money.

I still plan to fix this uke. I am not a professional - I do this for fun. So I do not need to earn "$X dollars per hour." I understand and sympathize with the pros who are frustrated at the idea of an amateur fixing an $80 uke by spending 20-30 hours in the shop. But it is my time and my uke.

If you are still reading I would like to know if the neck is probably dovetailed or probably just glued on? I'm also interested in advice (but not advice that says, "Don't bother.")

I have built four ukes, two cigar box ukes and two pineapple ukes. I carved the neck each time. I am not proud of the first neck I carved but the last three turned out very well. So I could just saw the old neck off and build a new neck. I will listen to both sides of the "remove and reset" versus "just build a new neck" argument.

What do you think?

Pop the fret board off and that will most likely give you an idea of the neck join type. It's going to need to come off at least the body anyway, and you'll be able to make a more informed decision as to the way to proceed.

+1 on Allen's advice. It is just as likely to have two dowels attaching the neck as a dovetail. The older it is, the more likely a dovetail.
Do you have, or were you contemplating setting up a steam rig?

I think I can get the fretboard off with an iron. The fretboard is rather ugly and I would not at all mind destroying it and cutting a new one, even if the neck is reused. But I don't want to damage the rest of the uke.

Once the fretboard is off if the neck is dovetailed I think steam is essential to getting it released. How does one release dowels? Drill down to the dowel and inject steam?