Learning the Ukulele in 6 Months

Kyle23

Reaction score
I posted this in Uke Talk, but I thought it would be suited for these boards also. I started playing january this year after wanting a ukulele for 2 years. Procrastination... Anyways, I've been on this forum since day 1 taking great advice from it's users and I thought I'd give some guidance like that of what was given to me. I remember just wanting to quit about a week in. I hit the "rookie wall". Hard. I got to a point where I didn't see myself improving. I recorded myself since day 1 so I could watch myself from a 3rd person perspective and hear/see my flaws. I was inspired by a video just this past week about a girl teaching herself to dance in 365 days and it gave me the idea to go back and put a few of my videos together to show my progress. Let me first say, I'm still not very great, but with a lot of work, you can see the improvement. I'd really like to help inspire people who are beginners at whatever it is they're starting to keep at it and the results will come. Thanks for reading and here's my little video of my progress over about 6 months.

Great idea Kyle, the video really shows an improvement from the first days to most recently. I really hope other beginners do see this and get re-inspired.

I'm coming to the end of my fourth month and I definitely feel discouraged. I appreciate your video and your inspiration. Thank you

I'm coming to the end of my fourth month and I definitely feel discouraged. I appreciate your video and your inspiration. Thank you

I'm glad I could help. Just set realistic goals and keep on chuggin along.

Kyle, thanks for sharing. You have made amazing strides, and I agree that other beginners can surely be inspired by your progress. The idea of taping yourself so you can measure your progress seems like a great motivational tool for any beginner.