Elementary music teacher needs help buying 1st uke!

Musical_K

Reaction score
Hello! I am an elementary general music teacher and I am looking into buying my first ukulele. I'm looking at possibly doing an unconventional set-up, and I'm hoping to get some advice about what equipment to purchase to meet my needs in the classroom.

While I do play piano and other instruments, I have been telling myself for a long time that I needed to learn guitar so that I could have those quintessential "grab the the guitar and do a sing-along" music teacher moments. After recently trying a friend's baritone ukulele, I decided that instead of a guitar I really love how the baritone uke is robust enough to use to accompany a large group but that I really love the lighter (beautiful!) tone quality for playing along with young voices. I also have a set of classroom soprano ukes that I use to teach my students, and so I already have a basic understanding for ukulele and I love the thought of expanding this skill set since it's something that relates more to what my students will be learning too.

So... I really want a baritone uke, but I would really like to keep the same tuning as a soprano uke because 1) I could play along with/demo using my uke when my students are learning theirs and have it all be the same key and 2) The keys of F (for my students to sing in) and C (for me to sing in) are the keys I use most in my classroom and these lie much better using the soprano tuning.

I don't care whether the G is high or low, but do I need special baritone strings that would allow for this tuning? Or can I just tune the regular baritone strings up a 4th? Will this cause too much tension or any other problems to be aware of?