Thumb fingering

UkeJordi

Reaction score
Dear ukers

Forgive me for what may be a stupid question but I am relatively new to the business. When selecting chord positions with the left hand on the fretboard, is (or should) the thumb be used at all for the g string? I normally use the 4 other fingers but not the thumb. I only use the right hand thumb (for plucking). Is this right or wrong?

Thanks

Jordi

I don't use my left thumb for anything other than supporting the neck. One buddy I play with uses his thumb to mute the G string and to fret chords like E7.

My vote is to do whatever is comfortable.

Thumb fretters are definitely a minority. For some people it makes one or two of the chords easier which seems nice when you are beginning - but the practice can hold you back in the long run. Do what is most comfortable for you, of course, there are no absolutes in playing posture. However, it is probably best to develop the habit of using the thumb to support the back of the neck as this makes switching between open and barred chords much more fluid and, if you progress on the uke, you are going to eventually encounter the need to play barre chords.

John

Lots of tutorials on YouTube. Search.....ukulele, how to hold, how to fret, how to strum for many examples. There are generally accepted "correct" ways to do these because they facilitate learning, and/or transitioning to, other techniques. They are not, however, the only way and you will see some differences in the demos. In the end, you will tend to play in a way that is comfortable for you and allows you do do what you need to do on the fretboard. Good luck.

Last edited:
I thumb-fret the G when playing a Bm chord. This is not a recommendation; I wish I could play it another way, because it can slow the move to the next chord, but (so far) I can't. So I'd say to thumb-fret as a last resort . . . while trying to find another way.