what uke to buy with $1,000 budget?

bookbinder

Reaction score
I won my fantasy football league this year and I've decided to buy a nice uke w/ my $1,000 winnings. I am a beginner-intermediate uke player, learned to play 10 yrs ago on a cheap soprano uke I bought in Maui. I'm leaning toward an all koa soprano uke. Should I get a Martin? I play/own a Martin guitar so I feel comfortable w/ the brand quality. Or should I look at ukes made in Hawaii or elsewhere? If the latter, which brands should I research for my budget? thanks for any help!!

I would get a Koaloha or a Kamaka. The Koaloha seems a little brighter and the Kamaka a little warmer. This place will do a good set up.
http://www.theukulelesite.com/
If you want a Martin style Ken Timms makes some great ukes.
Any of the above listed ukes will be great. Quite sure many opinions to follow.

You can get a really nice vintage Martin style 2-M for that cash to go with your other martin. Or any of the K brand koa and have enough left over to buy a Martin 0. I'd get to a music store with a good selection of used and new ukes and see what speaks to you. They all sound and play a little differently, but you really can't go wrong with a nice vintage Martin. they even made some in Koa, but they are pricey, you may find one in your price range though.have fun with your search.

Congratulations! That is a high stakes FF league. First of all, what was your starting line up?

Second of all, if you want a koa soprano I would go for a KoAloha soprano (preferably contact them directly to get a factory second). They have tons of volume and projection but still have a very full satisfying tone. They are amzing instruments. Plus, if you got a factory second you would still have ~$500 to save for a rainy day.

Your post gives me a great idea though. A UU fantasy football league.

If tenor, KoAloha.

If soprano, vintage mahogany Martin.