Curly Redwood

Moore Bettah Ukuleles

Reaction score
I picked up a bunch of top sets of this stuff but I have no experience with it. It looks scary to work with since half of it is end grain. I'm worried about the bridge tearing right out of it. I'm assuming it needs to be thicker and braced more heavily than it's straight grain counterparts but I'm a little shy to even give it a go. Anybody with experience in using curly redwood? TIA.

Attachments

• CURLY REDWOOD.jpg
    CURLY REDWOOD.jpg
    96.5 KB · Views: 230

Thanks. Yeah, it looks nice all right but I'd be more interested in that thread if it were talking about that uke when it is a year or more old. I'm concerned about the problem that Aaron mentioned in the above post. When I checked one of these boards for stiffness it broke under the slightest flexing. By looking at the sides of the panels I think I can plan for the bridge to be in an area where the grain is the straightest and stingiest. i'm thinking of a top thickness of between .080" and .085".

Last edited:
I put my thumb right through 2 (yes two) curly redwood tops. They were lovely up to that point.
Anne

Wood with that much run out can be dangerous. I would definitely use a string through type bridge with a bridge patch if I were to use it, but I wouldn't use it. Good luck Chuck.

Chuck, how can you resist that kind of challenge? Its not like you have to sell the first one.

Some great responses. Thank you all! I think I'm gonna pass. Life is exciting enough without me having to create more drama for myself. I made the same mistake buying a dozen sets of curly lychee I'll never use. I should be content building with boring koa. ;)
Mahalo, Chuck

Sorry guys I emailed Chuck privately but thought I should share my thoughts here too...

My experience comes from steel string guitars. I helped my mentor with one and basically it was designed for minimal load, maximal strength;

short scale length,
smaller body,