Transitioning from Uke to Guitar? What to buy? What to do?

hippowong

Reaction score
Hi All,

Been a while since I've posted here. I've been playing the uke now, self taught, for almost 3 years. I am thinking of making a transition into picking up the guitar. I really love my ukes but I find sometimes because of the limited octave range, that a guitar might be fun to pick up for more songs. Mostly in the folk genre.

I was thinking of buying a Yamaha Jr1, a 3/4 size guitar. I know the JRS are for kids but I like the size and I'm used to small from playing the uke. I don't have any problems working my soprano uke.

Wanted to get some advice on what to do. How to transition into the guitar from uke. Though this was a good place to post.

Thanks

The Little Martins are pretty nice, easy to handle & reasonably priced, if a bit more than the Yamaha. Another good choice is the Taylor GS Mini (I have one, it's a Jumbo shape in a smaller size, has a solid top & laminated sides & back) and some other folks have told me that the Luna guitars are nice for the money, too.

Of course, the best way is to handle a few different ones.

Good luck in your new adventure!
bobinleipsic

any desire to try a guitalele?

I was looking for a small guitar and considered getting a JR1 but the scale length is too short for me.
I've never played a low end Yamaha but they all seem to get pretty good reviews.

Taylor GS-Mini is something you should definitely check out. Smaller size but sounds huge. Solid tops and laminate sides and back. Price is great. I sold my Taylor 414CE years ago when I got into uke and never played my guitars. I recently got a GS-Mini as a gift and I'm glad I have one back to noodle around on. I can't believe how big the sound is for an instrument that is 3/4 the size of a full guitar. You can't go wrong with Taylor. Great craftsmanship for sure.

Hi All,