Left handers?

DWitt

Reaction score
I'm not a beginner, but my son is! At age 4 1/2, he seems to be left-handed. Should I teach him to play lefty? Left-handers: do you strum with your left or right hand?

(Also welcome: recommendations on books, websites, methods, etc. for young kids.)

My uke instructor is a lefty, but he plays righty, and his recommendation to lefty adults is always to try playing righty because it will make life easier down the road (since most materials are written from a right handed point of view, and most instruments are built that way as well). At that young age, I would encourage your son to play righty if possible.

Though I am left handed, I learned to play guitar right handed because I taught myself by watching other people and never even knew there left hand guitars until after I had been playing many years. So now I am teaching myself to play ukulele right handed too.

I honestly don't know what other people should do in terms of handedness because I believe it is different for everybody. Janeray seems to have good advice from her teacher.

Tony

I'm left handed and took guitar lessons many years ago. My teacher taught me right handed with the belief that you need to be adept with both hands to play. We lefties have to adapt to this right hand dominant world in many other things as well so it is just one more thing to do.

My daughter is a lefty and she learned to play guitar and uke right handed. I even offered to buy her a lefty guitar when she showed interest, but she said that it felt weird. Anyhow, if he's comfortable playing a righty, stick with that.

Another lefty that plays righty here. Truthfully, it wasn't a conscious decision, I just did what felt comfortable.

Lefty who plays lefty here, tried to play right and found it very uncomfortable. How about give him a uke and see which way he feels works. It is pretty natural to play one side or the other to be honest, some can and some can't switch.