Very simple fretboard chart

VeganMobster

Reaction score
I recently started playing the uke, and was looking around for a fretboard chart. I found that many charts online had every single note (a lot of clutter), or were not very intuitive (vertical orientation etc). So I made a new chart myself. You can check out the PDF from the link below.

http://bit.ly/1oIxSQy

This one has only natural notes, and they are color coded. I chopped this off at the 12th fret, because that seems plenty to start off with. I also tilted the fretboard slightly for added realism.

Let me know what you think, and do tell if I made a mistake somewhere in there.

Kudos. I like it a lot!

I like it too. Simple, uncluttered, and looks as though you're holding a uke. This should make it very easy to learn all the natural notes on the fretboard, and then the sharps and flats can easily be filled in between. Thanks!

Thanks for making this chart, VeganMobster. The chart is unique and uniquely well-suited to the player in playing position - well done. I will laminate it and keep it handy for reference.

Edit: Having grabbed two other fretboard charts elsewhere from the internet prior to this one, I have comment on the creativity shown in this design. Everybody lays theirs flat so we have to make a visual translation from chart to fretboard. This one is different with its perspective from the player's viewpoint. It seems such a simple idea and reminds me of the old story of creativity about the little boy who suggests letting air out of the tires to get a truck unstuck under a bridge. I just finished laminating this chart and can really see that it is a tool I will use often until the fretboard is imprinted in my brain from a practical standpoint from use, rather than from memorizing the locations separately from making music.

Giving credit where credit is due...you did a very creative and useful thing here, and then gave it away freely for the rest of us to benefit from.

Thanks,

Tony