Does it bother you?

Rllink

Reaction score
First question, does it bother you when someone posts a question that has already been discussed at some point in the past? Second question, do you use the "search" to try and find if a subject has been discussed in the past, before you post a thread on the subject?

It never bothers me. I can skip right past it. Sometimes it's a newb. I was a newb myself. Sometimes asking gets a faster response than searching.
I say ask away.

I belong to various forums (on various topics),and the problem
of 'frequently asked questions' is often placed as a 'sticky' so
the information is there for all to read. The problem there is,
that a lot of newbies (to any subject or forum) simply don't
know what a 'sticky' is, or why it is there, so they often do
not read them!

Doesn't bother me at all. I learn a lot from the questions others ask, even if I've seen it answered before.

The search function within the forum is a bit sketchy. You're better off to search for what you want through Google. There's a way to limit a Google search to the forum. Someone described that in a thread yesterday. I don't know how to do it.

Besides, if people stopped asking questions that have already been answered then the late arrivals wouldn't have a chance to try to share our knowledge (or ignorance).

The search function within the forum is a bit sketchy. You're better off to search for what you want through Google. There's a way to limit a Google search to the forum. Someone described that in a thread yesterday. I don't know how to do it.

All you have to do is enter the thing you're looking for, in quotes if it contains more than one word side by side, and specify the site, like this:

"kamaka ohta-san" site:ukuleleunderground.com