Maple Leaf Champions

Ted Staunton and I started this jug band a few years ago. While it always includes Ted and me, it has varied from 3 to 9 or 10 in number. We recorded one CD with an anchor group of five.
Although I have been playing music since 1960, this is the first group in which I have ever used a ukulele.
  1. The day our CDs arrived in the mail.
  2. MLC at the Cameron House on Queen Street in Toronto with our guest vocalists The Ukulillies.
  3. Ted Staunton, Trevor Mills & Jim Yates at Port Hope's Capitol Theatre.
  4. Saskia, Ted, Jim & Will at the Orono Fairgrounds
  5. MLC Jug Band at Cobourg's Harvest Street Festival 
L>R - Ian McKeown, Jimmy Bowskill, Jim Yates, Ted Staunton, Evan Rolfe
  6. Greenbank Folk Club 
L>R - Saskia Tompkins, Ted Staunton, Jim Yates, Will Staunton
  7. A poster for a Millbrook folk club gig. 
I am holding an old S. S. Stewart tenor banjo which is tuned (capoed at II) gCEA with nylon strings.
  8. A gig at Spadina Museum in Toronto 
L>R - Will Staunton, Saskia Tomkins, Ted, me, Margaret Heenan, Ian McKeown,Rev Ken Ramsden, Brenda Ashton, Trish...
  9. An early publicity photo taken in my back room.
  10. A Christmas gig at the Library. 
James Melon, me, Ted, Jimmy Bowskill
  11. Me, Jimmy Bowskill and Ian Mckeown at a Bookstore gig in Port Hope
  12. The MLC Jug Band plays the Port Hope Jazz Fstival Parade
  13. Joseph Scriven Weekend 
L>R - Evan Rolfe, Ted, George Hamilton IV, me 
George was a really nice guy, who had no problem hanging with the local...
  14. Our second gig Port Hope Street Festival.  Me with Kala uke, Ted, Ian McKeown 
This is before I installed a strap on my uke.  I had to bring a stool...
  15. MLC Jug Band at Zest Restaurant, Port Hope. 
L>R - Will, me, Ted, Ian, Zeke Mazurek (Zeke was our first fiddle player. RIP) 
I just noticed Evan's...
  16. When Jimmy's on tour, Saskia Tompkins plays fiddle with us.