Wood question

evilbadger

Reaction score
Hi guys I am a long time woodworker and my brother has asked me to build him a uke. I have ordered the Hana Lima construction manual so that will answer a lot of my questions hopefully.

From what I have gathered in my online research I see that quarter sawn lumber is recommended for tops, backs and sides I was wondering if flat sawn lumber would be okay for the other parts such as kerfing, neck, fretboard, etc.

Finding flat sawn wood is not a problem does anyone have a good source for quarter sawn wood? I am located in Florida so I would prefer suppliers in the USA. I can resaw, plane and use the drum sander to work the lumber down to final thickness.

Thanks
Tim

Quartersawn is recommend for the body woods because its the strongest and most stable with humidity changes. That's pretty important for the thin light body parts. Neck, fingerboard, and linings are probably OK with flat sawn. Just be careful that you can pick woods that won't warp. I'll say flat is OK for bracing too....but lots of people will dissagree
Good wood sources: LMI (lmii.com), Stew Mac, Hibdon Hardwood, Hana Limia.

http://www.luth.org/resources/lutherie_suppliers.html

There is a good list to search through. Hana Lima Ia has some wood sets. I am not sure what they are like I have only purchased the bracing, rosettes and tuners from them. Alot of good info in previous post on first builds here in the UU. I think I have scrolled through over 100 pages and I always find something to help me assure myself or make the process easier. If not there are some pros here who will help and you can get good tips by visiting their website or FB page. Good luck with the build.

I think it's important to use quarter sawn on the fingerboard. You will likely need some supplies so just buy one for 6 or 7 dollars from LMI. Kerfing doesn't really matter. Bracing grain orientation is very important to me.