PDA

View Full Version : what equipment to you use to record videos



geoffsuke
02-20-2009, 08:16 AM
heyup uu!!!

after my old youtube account went all whereabouts, i have decided to upgrade my recording equipment to start off on a new level. i already have a behringer c-3 mic coming and thats connect through a mixer, i'm just down to the video now.

what i need is something that i can record with straight onto the computer so i can have the sound from the mic and the video from the camcorder. can you do this???

what do you guys personally use????

peace :cheers: and beer

hoosierhiver
02-20-2009, 08:24 AM
I just use a Sony 8.1 Cybershot camera. Works amazingly well.

geoffsuke
02-20-2009, 08:44 AM
I just use a Sony 8.1 Cybershot camera. Works amazingly well.

but can i use the external c-3 mic with it????

russ_buss
02-20-2009, 08:50 AM
but can i use the external c-3 mic with it????

you can combine the audio from your c-3 and video from whatever camera after the fact, using Windows Movie Maker or iMovie.

dominicfoundthemooon
02-20-2009, 08:55 AM
okay.. this is part of my age old question.. i am jumping into the world of youtube also! i have been in the youtube world for a bit now.. (iamnotbobdylan) and with my new page (dominicfoundthemoon) and i want to start making better videos... in the old days i would use a sony quick cam and just whatever video program came with windowns..

but now... i am a MAC... after seeing julia nunes.. and getting into some of the videos... i notices that people were using macs.. so i new use imove to make all my videos... i record with the regular mic that comes with the computer and it works well.. i also use grage band.. and this works well also...

this is where we get tricky.. real tricky..

i want to LAYER my videos... one on top of the other.. cut from one video to the next.. but have thre sound remain constant... the same..

example...

have me play the whole song from start to finish as the first layer.. and add me playing drums.. maybe a solo.. maybe a harmoney.. and just put them all right on top of each other...

here is what i have been told...

turn on imove.. hit record.. move over to grarge band.. hit record and lay down your track.. with each new track on garage band.. make a video of that.. then when you have it all tracked in gband.. export to itunes as an mp3 then go make my video.. take the clips.. turn the volume off.. and import the single mp3 track in.. then make sure it all matches up... (THATS THE HARD PART)

and that is that!!

but it makes me think.. for real.. that is what i need to do.. there is not some simple video program.. that i can use on my mac that just does PIP or layers.. and no i do not want to use FINALCUT is is way to complcated...

so that is where i am now.. i am thinking abotu getting a snowball?? mic like russ.. but not sure yet...

ideas.. thoughts... remember i am on a mac! and i do love my mac..

Mac & Ukulele.. its the new dinner of choice for those of us on the moon..

d

dominicfoundthemooon
02-20-2009, 08:57 AM
you can combine the audio from your c-3 and video from whatever camera after the fact, using Windows Movie Maker or iMovie.

shut up with your windows talk already russ!! :old:

even you dog wants you to get a mac! he kind of looks like a little mac apple.. all white..

d

russ_buss
02-20-2009, 08:58 AM
shut up with your windows talk already russ!! :old:

even you dog wants you to get a mac! he kind of looks like a little mac apple.. all white..

d

i have both mac and pc. nice to have options.

dominicfoundthemooon
02-20-2009, 09:02 AM
i have both mac and pc. nice to have options.

once again you have beat me.. you have mac.. pc... a koaloha ukulele.. a cool dog... man.. sucks to be me!

seeso
02-20-2009, 01:11 PM
heyup uu!!!

after my old youtube account went all whereabouts, i have decided to upgrade my recording equipment to start off on a new level. i already have a behringer c-3 mic coming and thats connect through a mixer, i'm just down to the video now.

what i need is something that i can record with straight onto the computer so i can have the sound from the mic and the video from the camcorder. can you do this???

what do you guys personally use????

peace :cheers: and beer

Hey, geoffsuke. I use GarageBand and iMovie for all my video projects. The internal mic is good enough for my purposes.

When I use an external mic, which is rarely, I plug it into a pre-amp that's connected to my computer. GarageBand recognizes it instantly. I use the MobilePre from M-Audio as my pre-amp.

Some of my videos have multi-tracked audio. These are the ones that I use GarageBand for. I just film myself doing the takes, edit the audio in GarageBand, then export it as an mp3 and use that as my audio track in iMovie.

When the mp3 is in iMovie, I sync the video to it. Hope that helps.

dominicfoundthemooon
02-20-2009, 01:24 PM
Hey, geoffsuke. I use GarageBand and iMovie for all my video projects. The internal mic is good enough for my purposes.

When I use an external mic, which is rarely, I plug it into a pre-amp that's connected to my computer. GarageBand recognizes it instantly. I use the MobilePre from M-Audio as my pre-amp.

Some of my videos have multi-tracked audio. These are the ones that I use GarageBand for. I just film myself doing the takes, edit the audio in GarageBand, then export it as an mp3 and use that as my audio track in iMovie.

When the mp3 is in iMovie, I sync the video to it. Hope that helps.

how long does this take you? i have yet to give it a try.... this weekend i will... someone should do a tutorial on this..

but yeah.. i am going to see what i can do..

d

seeso
02-20-2009, 01:59 PM
how long does this take you? i have yet to give it a try.... this weekend i will... someone should do a tutorial on this..

but yeah.. i am going to see what i can do..

d

It depends. If I'm doing only one track audio, it can take 15 minutes. If I've got a lot of tracks in my audio, that means that I have a lot of takes recorded on video, too. Hotel California and Brown Woman took like 3 - 4 hours each.

hoosierhiver
02-20-2009, 05:52 PM
i have both mac and pc. nice to have options.

DangeRuss !!...

krabbers
02-21-2009, 06:21 AM
magix audiolab with a $5 mic from maplins
for video i use ulead 11+ its got 6 layers of greenscreen
the camera i use is about 20 years old video8 nikon sony clone

Howlin Hobbit
02-21-2009, 07:11 AM
So far I use a cheesy old Canon PowerShot A450 and its built in mike. I use iMovie for any editing, adding of titles, etc. It's an old version of iMovie because I have an old eMac.

The "fanciest" video I've ever done has takes from two camera angles and it's kind of a beeyotch to try and get the edits lined up and synced correctly, but it can be done.

If you're doing multiple takes and using your camera's built in audio like I am you have to separate the audio and video tracks in iMovie. You also have to do this if you're trying to use the "MTV style" titling I found.

This has the bonus of making the usual extremely long rendering time (when you're done editing) into a truly hideously long rendering time. Luckily, I generally finish these things in the evening and just start 'em rendering before I go to bed. They're done by morning.

Lori
02-21-2009, 08:51 AM
Two things that really help your video are good lighting, and controlled backgrounds. Choose your background carefully, and your clothing too. Try and keep it simple and attractive. Proper lighting takes a little time, but makes a huge difference. Best results usually occur when you can keep too much light from spilling onto your background. As for sound, if you can get a mic close to your uke, instead of the one mounted on the computer/ camcorder, you will get better results.

On my podcasts (warning, these are not on ukuleles, but interviews with painters, sculptors, and comic book artists) we try and get broadcast quality shows on a shoestring budget. I know YouTube gets people used to low quality production, but you can do so much to improve your presentation... and people will think you're a better player too.

Examples of our attempts at careful lighting (we are still learning);
http://www.ForArtsSake.tv
http://www.ArtistsOnArt.tv

Cheers, Lori

seeso
02-21-2009, 10:15 AM
Lori, those videos look excellent.

Lori
02-21-2009, 12:47 PM
Lori, those videos look excellent.

Thanks! We were beginners when we first picked up the camera, and arranged the borrowed lights. I did a lot of research online and got a crash course on video production. Just the basics, keylight, bounce light, hair/ back light can get you started.

Lori

remy
02-21-2009, 06:09 PM
I would do WHATEVER seeso does. His videos are amazing.:D You also need a cute little dog to occasionally walk by while you are playing. That really adds to the magic that is a seeso video!!!

14twelve
02-21-2009, 10:26 PM
but it makes me think.. for real.. that is what i need to do.. there is not some simple video program.. that i can use on my mac that just does PIP or layers.. and no i do not want to use FINALCUT is is way to complcated...

d

The latest version of iMovie (iMovie 09) does PIP, and while it doesn't work fully in layers, it does have the option to do precision editing.

The older iMovie HD is a free download from Apple now and that has the option for plugins that do PIP and split screen. The plug-ins all cost about $40 - $50 though. The iMovie HD is also a good one to have when your computer is having a slow day! I sometimes have problems with iMovie 08 or 09 freezing, but iMovie HD never does.

Hope that helps a bit.

dominicfoundthemooon
02-21-2009, 10:35 PM
The latest version of iMovie (iMovie 09) does PIP, and while it doesn't work fully in layers, it does have the option to do precision editing.

The older iMovie HD is a free download from Apple now and that has the option for plugins that do PIP and split screen. The plug-ins all cost about $40 - $50 though. The iMovie HD is also a good one to have when your computer is having a slow day! I sometimes have problems with iMovie 08 or 09 freezing, but iMovie HD never does.

Hope that helps a bit.


humm i need to do both of the things you suggested.. and i need to do them when i get the MONEY! but i do need to do them.. and then you and i need to talk.. i want to know how to do this better!!

but i did just finish my first ever video!! well.. first video like this..

check it out!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsNv7K-cYpk

grappler
02-22-2009, 12:08 AM
The latest version of iMovie (iMovie 09) does PIP, and while it doesn't work fully in layers, it does have the option to do precision editing.

The older iMovie HD is a free download from Apple now and that has the option for plugins that do PIP and split screen. The plug-ins all cost about $40 - $50 though. The iMovie HD is also a good one to have when your computer is having a slow day! I sometimes have problems with iMovie 08 or 09 freezing, but iMovie HD never does.

Hope that helps a bit.

Which version of iMovie HD is available to download? I can't find it anywhere =[:wallbash:
is the one your talking about iMovie 6.0.3?

dominicfoundthemooon
02-22-2009, 03:33 AM
Which version of iMovie HD is available to download? I can't find it anywhere =[:wallbash:
is the one your talking about iMovie 6.0.3?

post a link when you find please please..

mu-hollaaaaaa :shaka:

seeso
02-22-2009, 03:34 AM
Which version of iMovie HD is available to download? I can't find it anywhere =[:wallbash:
is the one your talking about iMovie 6.0.3?

Here's one:

http://support.apple.com/downloads/iMovie_HD_6_0_2_Combo

seeso
02-22-2009, 03:35 AM
I would do WHATEVER seeso does. His videos are amazing.:D You also need a cute little dog to occasionally walk by while you are playing. That really adds to the magic that is a seeso video!!!

LOL! :D While I appreciate the sentiment, I do need better lighting in my videos. My lighting stinks.

14twelve
02-22-2009, 04:20 AM
Which version of iMovie HD is available to download? I can't find it anywhere =[:wallbash:
is the one your talking about iMovie 6.0.3?

Hey grappler, yes, it's iMovie 6.0.3, or earlier (also called iMovie HD) The link Seeso posted takes you straight to it.


post a link when you find please please..

mu-hollaaaaaa :shaka:

Sorry - I went out as soon as I replied to your message so didn't read this till now, but Seeso's link will get you to it.


Here's one:

http://support.apple.com/downloads/iMovie_HD_6_0_2_Combo

Thanks Seeso!

14twelve
02-22-2009, 04:38 AM
humm i need to do both of the things you suggested.. and i need to do them when i get the MONEY! but i do need to do them.. and then you and i need to talk.. i want to know how to do this better!!

but i did just finish my first ever video!! well.. first video like this..

check it out!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsNv7K-cYpk

That's awesome Dominic! That's a great song, and you've done a great job with iMovie and GarageBand.

If you end up wanting to get plug-ins for iMovie HD, the two websites I've found that sell them are http://www.geethree.com/slick/index.html . (No. 4 has PIP and split screen), and http://www.stupendous-software.com/Stupendous/SplitScreenPiP/Pages/index.html

I have downloaded the trial of the stupendous software one and it seems pretty good. GeeThree doesn't have a trial, and I've never tried it, but it has been recommended in some video editing books and websites.

The new iMovie has PIP built-in, but not split screen unfortunately. And neither iMovie 08 or 09 allow plug-ins.

seeso
02-22-2009, 05:35 AM
I have and use the GeeThree Slick plug-ins for my split screen needs. It's alright. It's not terribly intuitive, but it gets the job done.

grappler
02-22-2009, 10:35 AM
strange that when i download it and try and install the image it wont let me because u dont have iMovie HD 6.

update.

its been removed by apple. =[

14twelve
02-22-2009, 09:43 PM
strange that when i download it and try and install the image it wont let me because u dont have iMovie HD 6.

update.

its been removed by apple. =[

Hey Grappler, I heard that Apple were planning to stop offering it when they released iMovie 09. I downloaded it a couple of weeks ago, and still have the file, so I'll send you a link in a PM. It's on my work server, so I can't post the link here, but if anyone else wants it, just PM me for it.

grappler
02-22-2009, 11:28 PM
thanks michelle! i sent you a pm already about u and seeso doing the same thing
love u guys
xx
:shaka:

geoffsuke
02-23-2009, 06:49 AM
does anyone know if you can get imovie for a windows pc, if there's like a hacked version or something???? it sounds so much better than windows movie maker

seeso
02-23-2009, 07:33 AM
iMovie only works on computers running Mac OS X. There are ways you can run Mac OS X on a PC, but I don't know anything about that.

PoisonDart
02-23-2009, 08:18 AM
I just started making movies a week ago, but I found my laptop microphone to be noisy and atrocious.

So I bought Blue's Snowball USB Condenser Mic (http://www.bluemic.com/products/snowball). And I'm very happy with it, works great.