DIY U-bass got new strings ...

Ruukie

Reaction score
Hi there,

I made a short video using my DIY U-Bass. It was made of a Dimavery UK-300 baritone ukulele, which got new tuners, a tailpiece, new nut/saddle, and a simple piezo underneath the top.
As I got it, it was strung with regular strings from a standard 5-string bass (BEAD) tuned to EADG. This worked for a while but didn't satisfy me. Last week, I switched strings to Pyramid copper wound strings and they opened the world for this little bass.

The ukes used were:

bass-uke.jpg

Technically, both ukes were attached directly to a laptop and recorded though Audacity. Different voices were mixed but not further processed.

Happy to take any questions,
cheers,
-ruukie-

That's excellent Ruukie, nicely done, and your video work is top notch as well.

I just started learning bass after 50 years of playing guitar, only because of the availability of small basses. I got a Gold Tone GT MicroBass, but I got caught up in SBUS (small bass acquisition syndrome) very quickly that I decided to have a custom fretless bass uke made by my uke builder in Vietnam, it's on it's way.

As well, I decided to convert a small electric guitar when I found an Epiphone Les Paul Express for $99 US. The strings I'm using are 30" scale (Rotosound Tru-Bass flat wound black nylon coated), but the guitar is 22" scale so I have to mount the strings to be as long as possible by wrapping them around the tail of the body to a plate I added on the back side.

LP install 1.jpg

Custom being made now, with a custom gig bag:
U-Bass & bag.jpg

Nice projects, Mike! For the BWA custom U-bass take care that the nut has some compensation. The thumb rest appears to be a nice idea. I'm excited to see how it works.

Btw, here another sample of my baritone-bass played solo: