Kala U-Bass intonation issues

CueFilmMusic

Reaction score
Hi
I just got a Kala SMHG-FS U-Bass solid mahogany on ebay, brand new, but a factory second due to a finish flaw on top (not really noticeable).

My issue though, is with the intonation. Hopefully the seller was honest about this just being the finish (it was from an authorized Kala dealer), but my A-string is the worst. By the time I get to F at the 8th fret on the A-string, it's almost a 1/4 tone flat. The 12th fret on A-string is almost a G#.

I am a professional bass player, so I am certain I am not bending the string, twisting, rotating, or pushing in the fret too hard to alter the pitch, and putting just enough pressure to fret the note. I have noticed the string pitch is very sensitive to pressure, whether pushing into the fretboard or bending the string.
Has anyone else had this kind of issue? It is strung with the standard black strings, I believe. I am comparing with the built in tuner on the Shadow pre, a Snark clip on tuner, and my own ears when playing with songs.

Thanks!

Was it setup and checked before it was sent out? Intonation and setup are the main reasons we suggest to buy from HMS, Mim's, Uke Republic. Sounds like it needs to be setup by a professional.

Time to measure the nut to 12th and 12th to saddle lengths and compare. That's the first place to start.
Pls post your measurements!

For kala this is pretty bad. My hadean omega ubass had great intonation out of the box. I was very worried about that. I've gotten spoiled by all the adjustments to be had on an electric bass.

I kind of doubt your action is too low...

Time to measure the nut to 12th and 12th to saddle lengths and compare. That's the first place to start.

For kala this is pretty bad. My hadean omega ubass had great intonation out of the box. I was very worried about that. I've gotten spoiled by all the adjustments to be had on an electric bass.