Newbie w/new old Martin

DaveZ

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar for over 45 years, but just got my hands on my first ukulele. I can't wait to figure it out. After stringing it up, I was caught by surprise at the tone and the loudness from such a small instrument. I can't wait to learn how to play it! All I know so far is that it is an old Martin Style 0. For as old as it appears to be, it's in great shape.

I would love to learn more about the instrument itself, but there seems to be a lot of conflicting and out of date information on the internet. I was quite happy to find this forum! Having spent a number of years on the road in my younger days, I want to insure it, but don't have a clue what amount to insure it for, if it even has any value. I'm hoping someone here can steer me in the right direction.

Here's what I do know.

It was given to me by a lifelong friend after his father passed away. It was his father's instrument and he played it all the time (according to the family, emphasis on the “all the time”). He bought it used in the Baltimore/D.C. Area just prior to WWII and it traveled with him all over the Pacific during his war years in the Navy. It's not known what he paid for it.

• It has the C.F. Martin stamp on the back of the head stock.
  • Does not have the decal on the front of the head stock.
  • It has bar type frets.
  • Appears to be nickel-plated steel tuning pegs with black plastic heads.

Also including some photos. Any info appreciated!

001.jpg
002.jpg
003.jpg
004.jpg
005.jpg

Looks fantastic and all the more better you have a personal connection with it.

Oh, and welcome to the disease. It starts with one but often progresses to more. I've heard more than one seasoned guitar player find a lot of joy in the uke and some even comment that it ultimately improved their guitar playing as having just four strings forced them to think of new ways to do things.