Strings for a pocket Ukulele and GCEA tuning

backburner

Reaction score
I recently purchased a cheap pocket ukulele to keep at my desk or throw in my bag if I'm heading to a friends house. I wanted to tune it to GCEA like my Soprano and my Concert uke, but tuning this low is not practical with the strings that came on it (I think they're standard Soprano strings).

I came across the Aquila 94U strings: http://omegamusic.co.uk/buy/aquila-aq-94u-soprano-piccolo-mini-iuke-ukulele-strings

According to the description these should allow me to tune my pocket Uke to GCEA, but an octave higher. Is it that simple? If I use these strings tuned to GCEA will I be able to use the same chords and play along with any other Uke tuned to GCEA?

Thanks for the help. I'm still pretty new to the Uke, but quickly becoming obsessed.

The Aquila 94Us are really high. If you google "Aquila 94U" there are a couple youtube videos which use these strings and you can hear how high they sound. If that sound is acceptable, then you have an easy solution.

It can take some experimenting to find what you want, but the pocket uke can be tuned to almost anything. I just had my Kala pocket uke at GDAE (high-G) and just retuned it to CGDA (high-C) to match fairly close to my tenor guitar. The strings were some low-cost GCEAs that I moved around to meet the patterns I wanted and tuned accordingly.

The strings, no matter how I tuned the uke, took a couple days to stabilize, requiring a lot of retuning to get them where I wanted, and then it seemed another day or so before they sounded as I thought they should. So, patienceis a virtue.

And GCEA chords are fingered the same regardless of the instrument if that's the tuning you use.