Are you in a Uke group. What Makes your Group work

KaraUkey

Reaction score
You see a lot of speculation about the so called Uke fad.
Has the bubble burst?
Has it peaked?

Most often it seems to be measured by Ukulele sales.
But is that fair?
Should it be measured by the number of people all around the world playing ukes?
And if that's the case does a lot of it come down to Uke groups and clubs?

Are you a member of a group or club?
What makes your group work?
What kind of music do you play?

I've been a member of the CC Strummers in Culver City, CA, out of the Culver City Senior Center since I started playing uke a year ago (played guitar for 50 years). It's officially listed as ukulele classes, Monday afternoons for beginners, Thursday mornings for intermediate, $3 a session, but there'a so much camaraderie that it's really more like a club. There are about 200 signed up, and about 95 regulars. I handle the contact list and more people are signing up than dropping out.

What makes it work is the teacher (leader) Cali Rose. First she's a consummate professional (as is her husband Craig Brandau), but more so, she has a great personality; fun, inviting, supportive, positive reinforcement at all times. She even convinced me (and a couple of others in the group) to take on the bass ukulele, which I'm learning now. (Something I've been reluctant to do for many years of coaxing by my guitar playing friends.)

We play all kinds of music, from a quick rendition of "Beethoven's 5th" to "Johnny Be Good" to "Sway" to Pharrell's "Happy (Clap Along)" and so much inbetween, and certainly many Hawaiian songs. I can say because of the group and Cali, I've applied myself to the uke more in the last year than I have my guitars for the last 20 years.

Last edited: