First-Time String Change

JoeJazz2000

Reaction score
I'm a very reluctant string changer, guitar or uke, but I've been working with the Glen Rose Jazzy Uke material, and he recommended Low-G for his stuff. I'm a 30+ year jazz guitarist and I knew that his chord voicings would sound better with low G, particularly when the changing chord tone in the progression is on the fourth string (think Dm7, fifth fret barre, 5555, to G9, 4555). You get it. Besides I have four ukuleles, one of which is a solid mahogany Lanakai LM-T tenor. I thought Lo-G would sound good on the tenor. So I experienced two things at once, changing strings on a tie-bridge instrument, and Low-G. It came with Aquila Nylgut High-G, which I like and am used to.

I put on Aquila SuperNylgut Low-G; the fourth string is red. I watched a dozen videos on YouTube on restringing. They were remarkably alike on tying on to the bridge, but very different on attaching to the tuning peg. Anyway I went once above the hole over the string coming thorough and then down the peg. It worked fine.

First Impressions. The strings were very stiff when uncoiled, and a little harder to handle and tie than I expected. I've never owned a nylon string instrument before so I had no experience with them. I chose this set because it has a plain fourth string, not wound. But, the touch and texture of it was rough(er), not slick like the others. Also a bit surprising.

The low G tone was really different. I think it'll take some getting used to. I like the re-entrant tuning because it keeps me from thinking of the uke as a little guitar, which in turn keeps me thinking of uke songs and techniques. The Low G will work well with jazz and blues I'm sure. I'll just have to get used to it.

Anyone out there tried these strings? Any ambivalent Low-G players out there?

Coming from guitar/mandolin, much prefer low-G. It just registers better in my ears.