When do you decide it's time for a new uke?

cmaj7

Reaction score
Hi gang, this is my first post, but I've been lurking for a while. :) I'm a beginner (I play a cheap little Kala soprano) and have been thinking a lot about my next uke.
I'm curious to know, when did you decide you wanted a new one? Did you make a conscious choice on a particular size/model because it filled a need? Did you just get tired of playing the same 'ol uke? Was it a gift? Share your story!

Yes :p :p

Curiosity, and the quest for "the" sound. At my age - old enough to remember the days before FM radio and enjoying them - the fun is in the experimentation, and life's too short to leave questions unanswered.

Oh this is going to be a fun thread. Most will answer, if honest, it is always a good time to buy a new uke. As for why one decides to buy a new uke the answers can be many and varied. I started out with a decent all laminate tenor but one month in I knew I was hooked and wanted an all solid koa tenor for the looks and the sound. Later I decided the concert size needed exploring, just because. I came to realize I also needed a car-uke to have handy so I bought a soprano. I have been having fun with the different sizes and increasing the quality of the instruments purchased.

Once you succumb to Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome, and/or the dog/kids/wife/yourself (delete as necessary) have been fed, bills paid, etc....there is never a "time" for a new uke. It happens at the right moment, hopefully with all prior conditions having been satisfied. Last new uke I bought was a head/heart wrangle.

I was itching to try cedar, and found a steal on a blemished Omega Music signature model. It's now my go to uke.

When the "right uke" rings your chime, you'll know it's time. (sounds like a good verse that should be in the UAS song)