Getting my first true custom uke!

Tigeralum2001

Reaction score
I've been playing for a few years now and in my time I have had the good fortune to play ukuleles that I have no business getting my hands on. I'll never play like Jake, or likely better than most on this forum, but I LOVE playing the uke. The one thing I have yet to have done was to have a true custom uke built for me. I have bought custom ukes second hand, but I've never gone through the process.

A while back I heard about this 2850 year old Sitka and it caught my attention. It has this unique gray color from having been buried in the mud in Alaska for who knows how long, and several luthiers have built ukes and guitars from it. I have two Spruce top ukes and they sound great, so I thought one day that this might make a nice (different) custom top. The wood supplier hadn't had any in stock for quite some time, so when I saw more was available I bought enough for two tops.

Meanwhile, about a year and a half ago, I met a local luthier through Craigslist. This guy has been building guitars for over 13 years and decided to try a uke, he was basically looking to get it in the hands of a player to get some feedback so he sold it at a great price. I replied to the ad and went to meet him. I was really impressed with the tone, though as any guitar builder's first attempt is likely to have, it had its flaws. We talked about those flaws and he built some more ukes, and they were markedly better. I was super impressed!

Anyway, I decided to have him build me two ukes from this ancient Sikta. The first one is currently under construction. It will have Cocobolo back and sides and it is now taking shape. I think it looks pretty darn good and I can't wait to try it out. It will still be several weeks until it is done, but I thought I would share some progress pictures.

Ancient Sitka : Cocobolo.jpg
Cocobolo back & sides.jpg