Bari and tenor users, a chord shapes question for you.

hammer40

Reaction score
While I have have both tenor and baritone (one) uke's, I have only recently been attempting to play the baritone. While I really enjoy the sound of the bari, I struggled with the larger scale of the fret board when I first got it. Now that I have some actual finger dexterity from learning and practicing on my tenors, I'm giving it some attention again.

I know the chord shapes remain the same, but do any of you memorize both names for the shapes in each tuning? I still don't even remember the C tuning chord names, so to now try to remember two, I don't think it will happen. I still want to play both instruments, but seriously don't think I can remember both tunings.

What do you all do?

If you're playing by yourself, it doesn't matter what key you're playing in. When I started playing britone by myself, I just used the same chord shapes I used when I played my tenor (so that a C chord on my tenor was a G chord on my baritone, and playing a song in the key of C on my tenor turned into playing a song in the key of G on my baritone). When I first tried to play baritone in a group with tenor, concert and soprano players, I created a cheat sheet on which I wrote the shapes I was supposed to play as if I was playing a tenor (so that, for example, if the music called for a G chord, I would write "C" next to it, because playing a C tenor shape on the baritone was playing a G chord on the baritone). I've begun memorizing the names of the chord shapes on a baritone, but it took a while, and it didn't happen until after I'd memorized the names of most chord shapes on a tenor. Memorization will happen; it just takes time and practice.

Last edited: