Southpaw Ukulele Conversions

IamNoMan

Reaction score
I Have a Dream!
I am a lefthanded musician who has always played righthanded. Sadly my lefthand is no longer flexible and I am contemplating learning to play a lefthanded uke lefthanded.

Considerations:
1. I have a battered "no name" baritone uke to convert for the experiment. This will be a beater uke. Sound quality is secondary at this time. If I can learn to play lefthanded with any competence I will convert my Martin Tenor IZ and Melody Junior later.
2. Existing uke has wound 3rd and 4th strings, plastic 1st and 2nd strings. I would like to go all plastic strings to ease the learning process on uncallussed fingers and avoid internal bracing issues. Is bracing even a issue for uke conversions?

3. The existing nut needs replaced. It is chipped. The saddle (that the strings rest on) is inset into the bridge, (terminology wrong?), If needs replaced, will do so. Maybe this not necessary for for the experiment? I don't know. There is a moderate surface crack on Sound board and two minor surface cracks on the bottom of uke. I assume a hot hide glue fill is appropriate for these.
4. I am an amateur Luthier, with a couple of Dulcimers to my credit and a crash and burn fiddle repair to to my name. I will job out all but simple repairs. If the plan works I will have Matrtin convert the IZ. I have connections to pursue suitable whaling motif inlay work for this as well. (ref. Dick Sinetti at Mystic Seaport Museum). I would also like to use ballina for nut/bridge/saddle replacements if available and suitable for the purpose.