PDA

View Full Version : Strings for a Tanglewood Union Series TU 6

roux
10-07-2014, 03:05 AM
Hello! I bought this uke second hand yesterday. At first I thought is sounded okay, or that I just needed to tune it. However, now that I've tuned it and have been playing, I think it sounds kind of tinny and cheap. I know it IS cheap, so I have been reading about strings to see if I could turn a cheap uke into a nicer one. Anyway, it seems like there is some epic battle between Aquila and Worth in the ukelele world:confused:. What are the pros and cons in the context of my brand of uke? Any information on strings would be really helpfull! Thanks!!:)

Sabantien
10-07-2014, 03:54 AM
I'm no expert, but I do enjoy the Aquilas I've got (nylgut and reds). The reds made my cheap uke sound a lot nicer, although they sure take a while to stop stretching. I figure strings are cheap, just try them and see.

PhilUSAFRet
10-07-2014, 04:01 AM