The grade of Koa and the effect on the sound

chenx2

Reaction score
Hi I am new to UU.

I have read a lot of specs of different ukes when I was picking my beginner uke.

Koa seems like the most recommended / sought after tonewood, and there is a grading system of some sort. It seems that the grading is related to the wood pattern rather than its sound quality, but I cannot find much information about it.

Would a ukulele using higher grade of Koa has a better sound than the lower one, or it affects the look only?

This has kind of been beaten to death in years past here, but the general consensus among luthiers is that at least for tops the plainer koa sounds better because the grain is straighter and more consistent and thus has more structural integrity which makes it stiffer at a given thickness. This allows making a top a bit thinner and thus more responsive. This is not to say that good sounding ukes cannot be made with fabulously curly koa, but all things being equal, if you listen with your ears and not eyes, a well made uke with a plain koa top will probably sound better than the same uke with a curly koa top.

This has kind of been beaten to death in years past here, but the general consensus among luthiers is that at least for tops the plainer koa sounds better because the grain is straighter and more consistent and thus has more structural integrity which makes it stiffer at a given thickness. This allows making a top a bit thinner and thus more responsive. This is not to say that good sounding ukes cannot be made with fabulously curly koa, but all things being equal, if you listen with your ears and not eyes, a well made uke with a plain koa top will probably sound better than the same uke with a curly koa top.

As a player, not a luthier, what Rick said is the upshot of past threads on this subject (it's fine to ask again). I agree with Rick.

Thank you for clearing that up. I ended up buying an acacia uke, which is a very good value buy IMO.